Litter Volunteers Recognized

(Dobson, N.C.) – A group of young men concerned about their community’s litter problem was recognized at the Surry Board of County Commissioners’ Monday, April 19 regular meeting. The team of 11 regularly collects litter on the roadways of the Shoals and Pilot Mountain areas. The men saw that Surry County has a problem with litter and wanted to roll up their sleeves and lend a helping hand.

Receiving certificates of special recognition at the meeting were:

  • Orry Benson
  • Patrick Creed
  • Tanner Hamilton
  • Griffin Hall
  • Patrick Marion
  • Brett Smith
  • Evan Smith
  • Preston Smith
  • Zach Smith
  • Alex Tilley
  • Jon Tucker

Pictured in the photo (left to right) are Jon Tucker, Tanner Hamilton, Brett Smith, Evan Smith, Griffin Hall, Zach Smith and Alex Tilley. Not pictured are Orry Benson, Patrick Creed, Patrick Marion and Preston Smith.

The Surry Board of County Commissioners, pictured behind the group (left to right), are Chairman Mark Marion, Commissioner Van Tucker, Vice Chairman Bill Goins, Commissioner Eddie Harris and Commissioner Larry Johnson.

The special recognition comes at a time when Surry County is encouraging more volunteers to collect litter.

Date: April 20, 2021