Public Works

The mission of the Public Works Department of Surry County is to provide a safe and convenient way for citizens to dispose of their solid waste and the opportunity to participate in recycling. The County’s landfill  is operated in accordance with Federal and State regulations. The Department operates 13 staffed convenience centers throughout the county which accepts household waste and recycling material. We offer recycling of newspaper, cardboard, plastic, automotive batteries, aluminum cans, magazines, and glass at all locations. Tires, appliances, electronics and metal are accepted at the landfill location only.

Dennis Bledsoe, Director
237 Landfill Road
Mount Airy, NC 27030
(336) 401-8376 (O)
(336) 401-8380 (F)

Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 342
Dobson, NC 27017

Office Hours: 8:00am-4:00pm Monday-Friday, 8:00am-12:00pm Saturday
Recycling Hours(this location only): 7:00am-6:00pm Monday-Saturday